Welcome to Habanero Hell

(seems like Heaven to me)

posted by Bob Hurt

In summer 2006 the habanero seeds I planted in 2004 had grown to 7 feet tall, laden with these gorgeous FIRE ENGINE RED habanero peppers


From a distance, the pepper bushes looked like Christmas trees with ornaments. 


As the peppers ripened, every three or four days I picked the ripest.  Each batch weighed over a pound.

 


Some I fermented with 3% salt to make pepper mash perfect for hot sauce.


 

Some I ran through my juicer after removing the seeds.


 

Then I blended the pulp it with garlic, olive oil, and salt to make a KILLER habanero-garlic chutney…


 

It made garnished food taste hot and garlic-ish.  It would have scared off vampires.  I loved it so much I hoarded it.


 

And I added it to South African sourdough and made delicious, scorching loaves.  

These became a hit at the local pepper festival.  

Vendors there could SMELL the habanero heat in them.


 

I never believed the old wive’s tale that eating habaneros makes your beard grow, but…


 
 

I thought you might enjoy a little visit to my Habanero Hell.  Bwaaahahahahaha.

 

Bob Hurt         Blog 1 2 3   f  t  
2460 Persian Drive #70
Clearwater, FL 33763
Email; Call: (727) 669-5511
Law Studies: Donate   Subscribe
Learn to Litigate with Jurisdictionary


 

Author: bobhurt

See http://bobhurt.com

Leave a Reply

